Collage of headshots of the Disability Mentoring Hall of Fame Class of 2020

Announcing the 2020 Inductees of the Susan Daniels Disability Mentoring Hall of Fame

The National Disability Mentoring Coalition (NDMC) has named 52 individuals and 4 organizations as Class of 2020 inductees into the Susan M. Daniels Disability Mentoring Hall of Fame.

The Disability Mentoring Hall of Fame was established in 2015 to carry on the legacy of disability champion and lifelong mentor, Susan Daniels, and to spotlight individuals and groups around the country who are making a significant difference in the lives of youth and adults with disabilities through mentoring. This year, the celebration of mentoring will recognize the Class of 2020 as mentors and organizations who have supporting disability justice, racial justice, and COVID-19 related issues impacting the disability community.

Substantial research has shown that mentoring is a critical element in helping youth from diverse backgrounds transition to independent adulthood and successful careers. For youth with disabilities, mentoring is even more critical because most come from families that have no experience with disability and there are few role models to follow. Moreover, peer mentoring and career mentoring have demonstrated effectiveness in strengthening self-advocacy, advancing career development, and promoting inclusion through positive engagement. The NDMC established the Susan M. Daniels Disability Mentoring Hall of Fame to highlight the importance of mentoring for people with disabilities and to honor individuals and organizations that provide exemplary service.

The Class of 2020 Hall of Fame inductees will be honored via a national, virtual ceremony on Tuesday, March 30th from 6:30-8:30pm Eastern. CART and ASL interpreters will be provided, and interested individuals can register for free at The below individuals and organization are the Class of 2020.


  • A. Randall Haas – Attorney, Counselor, Advocate and Warrior
  • Aisha Brandford Murdaugh – Accessibility Specialist, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
  • AJ Link – National Disabled Law Students Association
  • Akemi Nishida – Lerner and advocate of disability justice activism
  • Dr. Alex Cohen – Accessible Pharmacy Services for the Blind
  • Alice Wong – Founder and Director, Disability Visibility Project
  • Allilsa Fernandez – Disability & Mental Health Activist
  • Andraéa N. LaVant – President & Founder, LaVant Consulting, Inc.
  • Bonnielin Swenor, PhD – The Johns Hopkins Disability Health Research Center
  • Christopher Barbie – Emory University
  • Christopher D. Johnson – Educator, advocate, and servant Leader
  • Conchita Hernandez Legorreta – METAS Chair
  • Danielle Garth – Iowa State Student Accessibility Services Soft Skills Coach
  • Danny Woodburn – Actor and Disability Advocate
  • Darya Farivar – Disability Rights Washington
  • Day al-Mohamed – Author, Filmmaker, Disability Policy Strategist
  • Dr. Duane G. Mayes – State of Alaska Director, Division of Vocational Rehabilitation
  • Dustin Gibson – PeoplesHub
  • Fanisee Bias – Disability Justice Advocate and Organizer | University of San Diego
  • Finn Gardiner – Lurie Institute for Disability Policy, Brandeis University
  • Command Sergeant Major (RET) Gretchen G. Evans – No Barriers
  • Horace Brown – Program Administrator
  • Jim E. Warne, M.S. – Native Advocate, Filmmaker and Educator, University of South Dakota Oyate` Circle and Warrior Society Development, LLC
  • Josie Badger DHCE, CRC – Advocate, Visionary, Mentor, Motivational Organizer
  • Karen Willis – Advocate and activist for Disability rights and LGBTQ rights
  • Keisha Greaves – CEO/Founder of Girls Chronically Rock
  • Keith P. Jones – Soul Touchin Experiences LLC
  • Kenna Chic -Advocate, Writer, and Thought Leader
  • Keri Gray – National Alliance of Multicultural Disabled Advocates (NAMD Advocates)
  • Dr. Kojo Amissah – Educator, mentor, activist, and transformational leader
  • Dr. LaMondre P0ugh – Ruh Global IMPACT
  • Lisa Matrundola – Rehabilitation Counselor, Grant Writer, and Disability Advocate
  • Liz Pritchard – Disability Rights Advocate, Artist, Teacher, Author and Presenter
  • Luticha Andre Doucette – Owner, Catalyst Consulting
  • Marcie Roth – Executive Director and CEO, World Institute on Disability Disability
  • Max Barrows – Outreach Director, Green Mountain Self-Advocates
  • Meenakshi Das – Accessibility Advocate
  • Mimi Khuc – Writer, scholar, and teacher; mental health advocate
  • Najma Johnson – Anti-Violence Activist, disability/language justice advocate, organizer, educator, & author
  • Nefertali Deeb – Comcast NBCUniversal
  • Nicolas Meyering – Disabled advocate and AmeriCorps alumnus
  • Noor Pervez – Community Organizer and Activist
  • Raul A. Gallegos – National Federation of the Blind of Texas
  • Ray Grand – Entrepreneurial Leadership in disability
  • Sandy Ho – Disability policy researcher and community organizer
  • Scott Michael Robertson – Policy strategist, technology expert, social scientist, and advocate
  • Sharon daVanport – Autistic Women & Nonbinary Network
  • Shayda Kafai – Educator-Scholar-Writer
  • Tiffany Smith-Anoa’i – ViacomCBS
  • Timotheus “TJ” Gordon Jr. – Researcher-activist, writer, speaker, multimedia artist, and autistic self-advocate
  • Victoria M. Rodríguez-Roldán – AIDS United
  • Vilissa Thompson – Founder & CEO of Ramp Your Voice!; Social Worker, Writer, Speaker, Activist


  • Consortia of Administrators of Native American Rehabilitation
  • National Federation of the Blind of Texas
  • Partnership for Inclusive Disaster Strategies
  • Women Embracing Abilities Now (W.E.A.N.)